Cookbook of the Month, May 2024: Feast App from the Guardian

Maureen: We’re doing something a bit different this month– an app rather than an actual cookbook.

This is from our friends at the Guardian, which has been our favourite British food section since forever (I clarify with the British since we both have a very big soft spot for the New York Times food section too). But here, on British shores, the Guardian, and its sister Sunday publication the Observer, is our go-to spot.

The Guardian just dropped this app, and at the moment it only works on iOS (Apple) devices, so it’s very much early days. But given how much we rely on the Internet to find recipes these days, it seems a logical choice to give this a whirl. The last time we reviewed an app, it was The New York Times cooking app (natch) in June 2017. We loved its comprehension– you’d think of a dish and inevitably there’d be a recipe for it– its ease of use and and all-star lineup of food writers we adored (step forward Sam Sifton, Melissa Clark and Allison Roman). Even though there’s now an annual subscription fee, I happily pay it because I use it so much it more than pays for itself. I also strongly believe that we should pay for content, but that’s a story for another day. I still use it at least once a week, and I’ve saved more than 374 recipes over the years, so it’s money well spent.

I’m looking forward to comparing the Guardian’s app. I doubt it’ll be as good– only because the New York Times has been doing it for longer– but it will be a delicious experiment to try.

Kirstin: Using the kindle app for cooking has in turn meant I’ve been increasingly turning to recipe apps on my iPad for more food inspiration. While I love the NYT app, I’ve also recently been playing a lot with the Epicurious app which has content from Bon Appétit, Epicurious, and Gourmet. So when Maureen suggested we review this new app Feast from our friends at the Guardian, I was totally in. And why would I not be as it has content from many of my favourite cookbook writers including Yotam Ottolenghi, Rachel Roddy, Nigel Slater, Benjamina Ebuehi and Rukmini Iyer. It also has seasonal content which is going to make this month’s cooking especially fun.

Cookbook of the Month, May 2024: Feast App from the Guardian

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.