“Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis was a weekend treat for us. And when I say “treat,” I really mean it.

These cookies were unbelievably delicious. But also, given that they took two days to make, they were a labour of love. I’m sure I could have completed them in one afternoon, but spreading the process over two days seemed to make it easier somehow.

First I had to make the peanut butter cookie batter. That was a pretty straightforward process, but then they had to set in the freezer. Rather than doing that, I put them in the refrigerator overnight. I would have used one of my reliable cookie cutters to make shaped cookies, but my 10-year-old helpers weren’t so keen on the labour intensity of that task, so we just cut the cookie logs instead. They shapes weren’t uniform, but they were close enough, and that’s a much easier way to do that step.

After baking, you then have to fill them with the chocolate (yum). I thought it was much easier to do this with a piping bag, but if that seems too challenging for you, just use some teaspoons. The end result is beautiful, if I do say so myself, and tastes even better.

For anyone who loves Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (and I’m going to enthusiastically raise my hand here) these cookies could be described as heavenly. But after 15 years of living in the U.K., where Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups do not enjoy the same adulation as they do in the U.S., I know that they are an acquired taste.

 

“Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.