“Chicken leg roast’n’braise with peppers, onion and lemon butter” from “The Magic Fridge”

Kirstin: I have to admit I wasn’t quite sure how the kiddos were going to deal with this. They prefer chicken breast to all other forms of meat, but the recipe looked so good, I wanted to try it anyway. And I’m glad I did. The recipe used a really interesting way of cooking the meat on top of the vegetables, with just a layer of foil in between. After cooking it like this for some time, the foil and accumulated juices were added to the vegetables, along with the chicken. Very clever. I had to cook it a little longer than indicated, but I blame my grill for that rather than the recipe.

Miles absolutely adored this recipe. I can’t even begin to tell you how many times he told me he was enjoying it as he ate dinner. And Ella devoured the lot and the potatoes. I had seconds and thirds of the potatoes as they were tasty from all the yummy chicken stock.

I’m not sure that the lemon butter was entirely necessary though which is no bad thing as it means I can rustle it up any time, adding a little lemon zest, juice and butter in its place. A total winner of a recipe and perfect for autumnal and winter evenings. Big love.

“Chicken leg roast’n’braise with peppers, onion and lemon butter” from “The Magic Fridge”

Leave a Reply

