“Herby Chicken Traybake” from “5 Ingredients”

I’ve got to say, this recipe reminds of the Jamie Oliver of old, back when he offered up delicious food, simply prepared.

To be brutally honest, it’s not as if he’s reinveted the wheel with this recipe, though. It’s just a classic traybake. But traybakes (also beloved by Nigella) are classic for a reason: delicious, easy and easy to change based on what ingredients you have to hand. I’ve definitely made variations of this many times before now.

In this particular recipe, it’s just chicken with garlic, rosemary and lemon: a classic combination that I’ve used, easily, a million times before. But that doesn’t make it less successful. If it’s worked before, it’ll work again. If people like it, who cares if it’s not terribly original?

However, I have to tell him that I completely ignored Jamie’s instruction to put the chicken on the oven rack just above the tray that has the potatoes in it. It seems as though Jamie has forgotten what it’s like to clean an oven rack with chicken fat all over it. (Spoiler alert: it’s a pain to get clean.) I know why he did it. He wanted the fat and juicy goodness from the chicken to drip onto the potatoes below. I get that, I just didn’t want to clean that. What I did instead was I got a baking wire rack that fit over the potato tray, put the chicken on the wire rack, and then put all of that in the oven. Cleaning a baking wire rack is about 1,000 times easier than cleaning an entire oven tray.

Finally, to give credit where credit is due, I picked up a top tip from Jamie in the car crashes that were “30-Minute Meals” and “15-Minute Meals”: using my food processor to slice up the potatoes. To be honest, I don’t think I ever used my food processor for slicing before those two books and now I use my food processor slicer all the time. (It’s also handy for when I’m making apple pie.)

Will we make this again? Obviously. A chicken tray bake was beloved by this family before and will be beloved in the future.

“Herby Chicken Traybake” from “5 Ingredients”

2 thoughts on ““Herby Chicken Traybake” from “5 Ingredients”

  1. quiglz says:

    There is nothing ‘Quick’ or ‘Easy’ about cleaning and oven rack. Is he mad? Or probably, he doesn’t have to clean his own oven.

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I think it’s definitely the latter. Though given how this was probably written and tested by a team of people, didn’t SOMEBODY flag this up? Why not just do what I did and use a cooling rack over the top of a pan instead? Seems a much better alternative.

Leave a Reply

