Cookbook of the month, May 2017: “Home Cook” by Thomasina Miers

Maureen: Even though I read it every week,  I’ve never made anything from her Saturday column in the Guardian

Kirstin: But it always looks nice.

Maureen: True. But it also always seems slightly mad, which could be the reason why I’ve never made anything.

Kirstin: I didn’t know she had won Masterchef.

Maureen: She won in 2005, which might have been when they relaunched it in its current format, whereas before it was with Lloyd Grossman. After she won, it really launched her career. She went on to do more TV, and then she started the Wahaca chain, which we love, in 2007.

Kirstin: Poor Thomasina has a tough act to follow after we did Melissa Clark. I could happily do Melissa Clark for the rest of the year.

Maureen: I don’t think Thomasina’s philosophy is that dissimilar to Melissa Clark’s. It’s all about making good tasty dinners for your family.

Kirstin: We shall see.

Maureen: Indeed.

Cookbook of the month, May 2017: “Home Cook” by Thomasina Miers

4 thoughts on “Cookbook of the month, May 2017: “Home Cook” by Thomasina Miers

  1. quiglz says:

    This was my cookbook allowance last month.. the melted leeks and chipotle with poached eggs was INCREDIBLE..

  2. Mark Preval says:

    I’ve seen a lot of glowing praise for this book so I will be intrigued to see what your thoughts are. I can’t believe it’s 12 years since she won Masterchef. I remember watching her win it and yet we’re still stuck with Gregg Wallace as a judge

Leave a Reply

