“Red Coconut Curry Shrimp” from “Dinner: Changing the Game”

Fish Friday!

Although, for the record, someone (read: my husband) once told me that prawns/shrimp do not count as fish. I think it’s high time I finally learn if he’s right. [Editor’s Note: Pause to do a quick Google search.] It turns out he’s right. According to Quora and FunTrivia.com, shrimp are crustaceans with the group of arthropods, though they are classified as seafood. You can learn something new every day. If you try.

Despite the above fact finding, I’m still making prawns on Fish Friday. Maybe I just need to call it Seafood Friday on the days we have shrimp/prawns.

This was a good meal. Although it did take a special trip to the supermarket to get some of the ingredients– I don’t usually have Thai red curry paste on hand– it was easy and quick to make. Everyone liked it.

There was only one small problem, and this is something we run into from time to time when we use a cookbook from a different country, in this case, America. The recipe called for daikon radish, which I guess must be relatively easy to source over there but is impossible to find over here. (Believe me, I tried.) Subbing in regular radishes was not an option, because they are completely different. So in the end I just ended up dropping the daikon radish from the recipe. It’s impossible to know if its absence made a difference. The curry was still good, though.

Needless to say, it was another winner from “Dinner.”

 

 

“Red Coconut Curry Shrimp” from “Dinner: Changing the Game”

6 thoughts on ““Red Coconut Curry Shrimp” from “Dinner: Changing the Game”

  1. quiglz says:

    I suppose it depends on your area, they used to be fairly easy to source in London.. the world food vegetable area of supermarkets..

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    Maybe, though I checked with my greengrocer, Waitrose and a local Sainsbury’s and none had them (nor have I ever seen them). Ocado does stock them, but they’re called something different.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      I’ll have to pick some up the next time I’m at See Woo on Greenwich peninsula. Or I can also order it on Ocado.

  3. Shiv says:

    Hi guys
    I made the recipe after seeing that delicious photo and being in Sydney was able to find one of those Daikon radishes in my local supermarket. I don’t really know if it added much bar a little bit of crunchiness – to be honest the red curry paste I used was from from a Thai cooking course I took and was hotter than hell so could not taste all that much!
    Had to finally post a comment as I’ve been lurking on your blog for ages. Have to say your choices so far in 2017 have been amazing – basically I’ve now taken to cooking entirely from Ruby Tandoh and Melissa Clarks’ books – this current month’s choice is particularly fab.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      You have made our day with your nice comment, all the way from Australia. Gotta love a paste that’s hotter than hell– I do love a bit of heat. I feel enough people have chastised me about the daikon radishes, so I’m going to have to look harder for them. Then maybe I’ll try this again.

      Thanks again for reading. Can you see me waving hello?

Leave a Reply

