“Filet Mignon with Mustard and Mushrooms” from “Cooking for Jeffrey”

img_9720

Unfortunately, this photo doesn’t do this dish justice. But look at the name of it. How can you go wrong with filet mignon?

[Answer: You can NEVER go wrong with filet mignon. Unless you’re a vegetarian, of course.]

Believe it or not, this was our bargain dish of the week. I know that seems like a puzzling statement to make about filet mignon, but it’s true. Although Ina called for traditional medallions for this dish, you’ll see that I used the tail. This is because at our local butchers on Christmas Eve, they had tails at a bargain-basement price, because everyone and their sister was ordering filet from the middle for their Christmas feasts. So I picked up four, put them in the freezer when I got home, and then we were able to enjoy them a month later.

Butcher bargains for the win.

This was delicious. In the interest of accuracy, I have to note that the teenagers passed on the creamy mustard sauce for their steaks. I’m not sure why. I would suggest that perhaps their tastes aren’t sophisticated yet, but given that they both love sushi, I know that’s not true.

Would I make this again? Of course. Especially when I’ve got some butcher’s bargains to use.

If you’d like to make this yourself, the U.S. Today show has the recipe on the website, which you’ll find by clicking through this sentence. 

“Filet Mignon with Mustard and Mushrooms” from “Cooking for Jeffrey”

Leave a Reply

