“Roasted Broccolini” from “Cooking for Jeffrey”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Barefoot Contessa calls it broccolini, but I took a punt and thought that she meant Tenderstem Broccoli, because that’s what it looked like in the pictures. [Pause to check Google to see if I was right. I was! Apparently Tenderstem Broccoli is the brand name for broccolini in the U.K. and Ireland. It even has its own website! ]

I loved this recipe because it gives me yet another way to prepare Tenderstem Broccoli, which I love and we eat all the time. In the past, I’ve only ever steamed it. But roasting it also works. It’s delicious.

This one hardly is a recipe, given that all you do is toss the tenderstem in olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and then roast it, but that’s OK. To give credit where credit is due, I’m fairly certain that the Barefoot Contessa is responsible for my fail-safe way to roast cauliflower, which I always used to burn, until I followed her advice to cover it with foil. Looking at it now, it’s obvious that foil was what was needed, but I needed her to point it out to me.

I will definitely be making this again. I just won’t need the recipe next time.

“Roasted Broccolini” from “Cooking for Jeffrey”

One thought on ““Roasted Broccolini” from “Cooking for Jeffrey”

Leave a Reply

