“Gunpowder chicken with dried chillies and peanuts” from “My Street Food Kitchen”

dsc04206

Tom: This has been one of my favourite recipes of the year which is why I wanted to have it again over the Christmas holidays. So thank you, I love it! But next time please can we have even MORE sichuan pepper?

Kirstin: Ha! Really?

Tom: Yes. I love the way sichuan pepper makes my lips go all numb. The first time we did this recipe there was mainly sichuan pepper and less chilli.

Kirstin: I really miss Asian flavours over the festive period so I’ve been cooking lots of our favourite Asian recipes this week.

Tom: Yes, I love it when my mum makes Indonesian style curry with leftover turkey after Christmas.

Kirstin: But remember to say no to the Jenever which she serves with it. I had too much one year and then took the kiddos to the science museum the day after. I’m not going that again in a hurry.

“Gunpowder chicken with dried chillies and peanuts” from “My Street Food Kitchen”

2 thoughts on ““Gunpowder chicken with dried chillies and peanuts” from “My Street Food Kitchen”

  1. I love that lip-numbing feeling too, although sometimes Sichuan pepper can almost feel…mentholated which combines oddly with food.

    Is Tom’s mother Dutch? Indonesian food is quite popular in the Netherlands and of course they drink jenever there. It certainly has a kick.

Leave a Reply

