Cookbook of the Month 2016: All of Our Favourites

Kirstin: Usually we’ve done a Christmas book for Decembers but the really obvious one this year was by Jamie.

Maureen: And obviously, given that we already vowed never to do one by him again after the disaster of Superfoods, we couldn’t go back so quickly on our word. So no Jamie Christmas.

Kirstin: So we’re going to try an idea we tried out in July 2014.

Maureen: With the chaos of the holidays and families, we felt it would be easier. We’re revisiting old books and recipes we’ve previously tried and returned to. Or new discoveries from books we’ve already reviewed.

Kirstin: We will link to the previous time we’ve made it, or the book if it’s a new one from an old book.

Maureen: I’m really looking forward to it! This will be one less thing to worry about in December.

Kirstin: I get to cook lots of Gwyneth!

Maureen: I’m thinking there’s going to be a lot of Nigella in our December, but we’ll see.

Cookbook of the Month 2016: All of Our Favourites

6 thoughts on “Cookbook of the Month 2016: All of Our Favourites

  1. Katherine says:

    I was wondering if you were going to do Jamie!! I like this idea though, interested to see what favourites you’ll choose!
    Thanks so much for all the entertaining posts, I love reading your blog – enjoy your December cooking!!

      1. Mark Preval says:

        I’d recommend the Jamie book. It’s Jamie back to his best. No calorie count on each page, no nutritionist helping out with the recipes, no obscure/strange/faddy ingredients that the healthy/clean eating brigade like to ram down out throats. If only all of his books from now on could be like this. I know that they won’t be though because I see that his next book is another 30 Minute Meals book

  2. I think December is a great time to revisit old favourites and make things which relieve the stress of the month. That said, one new book is Gizzi Erskine’s Season’s Eatings, which covers celebrations from October onwards (Halloween, Bonfire Night, etc). It’s not one I feel compelled to add to my own collection, but I do really like Skinny Weeks and Weekend Feasts, which I do own

Leave a Reply

