Our Verdict: Bread Street Kitchen

Kirstin: Maureen, you made loads more from this book than I did.

Maureen: I did! We had some really good meals from it. It had some really good recipes for comfort food, which was just what my family wanted in November.

Kirstin: It certainly did. Those brownies looked amazing! I loved the Yorkshire pudding recipe; I’ve already made them a couple of times since.

Maureen: Oh yes. Such a classic recipe and such good tips too.

Kirstin: But this book did feel like it was a throwback to the cookbooks of the 90s. Glossy pages, the very British recipes. I say that, but the sticky toffee pudding was exceptional, so the recipes were definitely worth checking out. I’m not sure I’d keep it on the kitchen bookshelf though.

Maureen: It’s a good solid effort, but there’s really nothing special about it. Everything we ate was good, there were no disasters– and some real triumphs– but I wouldn’t give it as a gift. It was fine, but didn’t set my world alight.

Overall Grade (A- F): B (Maureen) B (Kirstin)
Best recipes: (Kirstin & Maureen) Yorkshire puddings.
Grade for Photography (A-F): C
Any disasters? (Kirstin) None. (Maureen) None.
Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? In a holding pattern on the backup cookbook shelf (Kirstin)
Would you give this to a friend? No. It doesn’t have anything that really wowed me (Kirstin). Unfortunately, no. I can think of several other books from 2016 that I would give before this one. It’s good, but it’s not spectacular.

Our Verdict: Bread Street Kitchen

Leave a Reply

