Cookbook of the month, November 2016: Bread Street Kitchen by Gordon Ramsay

Kirstin: This book looks good, but it feels quite 90s. I don’t know why I think that. It might be shiny paper, since everyone uses matte paper now. The recipes also feel quite 90s.

Maureen: I like that it’s an all day cookbook. It’s got everything: breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks in between.

Kirstin: I like that there’s recipes for cocktails.

Maureen: Cocktail recipes are always a welcome addition to a cookbook. I have to say that when I was paging through it, I saw a recipe for American pancakes, but I’m dubious about the quantities they put in the ingredient list, so I’m going to have to give it a try.

Kirstin: For the focaccia recipe, they say you have to knead it for 10 minutes, but surely that’s too long.

Maureen: Isn’t the whole point of focaccia that you don’t have to knead it every long? Yes, you should give that a try. But I’m cautiously optimistic about this cookbook. Gordon has a pretty good track record with us.

Kirstin: Gordon’s recipes aren’t always particularly inspiring, but they’re always good.

Maureen: We will see.

Cookbook of the month, November 2016: Bread Street Kitchen by Gordon Ramsay

4 thoughts on “Cookbook of the month, November 2016: Bread Street Kitchen by Gordon Ramsay

  1. Gosh, I hear you with the comment about glossy pages. It seems a lot of US published books go this route too and I do not like it one bit.

    Interesting to see what you all make of this one.

Leave a Reply

