“Portuguese Baked Hake and Potatoes” from “Simple”

img_9492

Maureen: Fish Friday!

Nicholas (13): What fish is this?

Maureen: It’s hake. You should see the mouth on a hake! It’s really something. I asked the nice fishmonger if I could have the head too, but then she warned me that we would have to be extra-careful with it because the teeth have anticoagulants in them. So no fun with fish heads tonight.

Andrew (Now 17! Happy birthday!): I’m not so sure about the hake.

Maureen: What do you mean?

Andrew: I like the potatoes, but I don’t like the taste of the hake.

Nicholas: I agree with Andrew.

Maureen: Well, that might be a first. But I’m not sure I understand why you dislike the hake. I don’t think the hake tastes overly fishy. It’s just a plain white fish.

Tim: I agree with Mom. I don’t see the problem either.

Maureen: Well, we seem to be divided on this one. Maybe when I make it again, I’ll just make it for me and dad and the two of you can have fish fingers or something. That’ll show you. I think this is delicious.

As I said above, the adults really liked this. I honestly don’t know why the boys didn’t like it more. Sometimes Often, children’s tastes are a mystery. But if you want to try it for yourself, click through this sentence to find the recipe in the Telegraph.

“Portuguese Baked Hake and Potatoes” from “Simple”

2 thoughts on ““Portuguese Baked Hake and Potatoes” from “Simple”

  1. foodelf says:

    Hi, Maureen
    I’m really intrigued by this recipe, but curious about the use of mayonnaise. I love mayo, but usually on a sandwich. What did you think about its use in this preparation?

    I recently tried it on a grilled cheese sandwich instead of frying in butter and was stunned at the delicious (if very rich) result.

    thanks,

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      It absolutely struck me as odd, too, but as it was prescribed in the recipe, I went with it. I don’t think I can describe it adequately, but once you roast the mayo on top of the fish, it becomes more like a warm creamy coating rather than a cold mayonnaise. I know it sounds awfully weird, but try it. We certainly liked it.

      As far as the mayo on the grilled cheese is concerned, I think it’s genius. In fact, it’s one of the “Genius Recipes” from Food52. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

