“Tandoori Chicken Salad, Minty Yoghurt Dressing and Poppadoms” from “Superfood Family Classics”

img_9477

I hope you’re sitting down, but guess what? We ate something from the new Jamie Oliver cookbook AND WE LIKED IT.

Actually, that might be an overstatement, but only because I was so excited to make something that wasn’t greeted with a round of groans when I placed it on the table. But still.

In the interest of full disclosure, I should also tell you that we ate this dinner in darkness at the table outside, because I am desperately clinging on to concept of outdoor eating, even though the sun sets at 7:15 p.m. now. So I’m suggested that perhaps my family also liked this better because they couldn’t see it. I will never know.

Everyone liked the chicken, covered in tandoori paste and then grilled. Yum. The adults liked the brown (obviously) rice with the minty yogurt dressing, but the teenagers were less keen. (I could see myself making this for lunch on a very ambitious day without the chicken.) Poppadoms always go down a treat in this house and I’m a bit surprised they were included in a healthy eating cookbook, since there’s really nothing healthy about them. But we all scarfed them down nonetheless.

Would I make this again? I might, actually. I just hope we won’t have to eat in the dark so that my family would like it.

“Tandoori Chicken Salad, Minty Yoghurt Dressing and Poppadoms” from “Superfood Family Classics”

Leave a Reply

