“Tabbouleh” from “Happy Salads”

IMG_9295Tabbouleh is one of those dishes that evokes very fond memories for me.

Time: Early 90s. Place: Youngstown, Ohio, USA. I was a cub reporter at The Vindicator (best name for a newspaper EVER) and my friend Jeff and I would go grab lunch at a great diner over by the courthouse. My friend Jeff, who had just returned from living in Bethlehem and working for Reuters, urged me to have the tabbouleh for lunch.

“This is a perfect example of it,” he would tell me. “They’ve cut the parsley correctly and there’s loads of it.”

I was young and naive (food wise, and, let’s face it, in every other respect too) but I liked and respected him, so I ordered it. It was the first time I’d ever had Lebanese food. Did I like it? Reader, did I ever. Not only did I like it, I ordered it every time we went to the diner from that time on.

I’ve loved it ever since.

I could have sworn I’ve reviewed a recipe for Tabbouleh before, but I just did a thorough search of the archives and couldn’t find one. I do recall making tabbouleh a few years back and thinking it was a completely laborious process, with all the chopping and such, and I didn’t fancy making it again.

But I can wholly recommend this one. Since the quantity is only for two people, (though I doubled it for the four of us) the amount of chopping of parsley, along with the other ingredients, is not onerous. It’s incredibly straight forward to make. Most important of all, it is delicious.

And I don’t even have to go to Youngstown, Ohio, to have it.

Google Books has indexed Happy Salads, so if you’d like to see the recipe for Tabbouleh, click here. 

“Tabbouleh” from “Happy Salads”

One thought on ““Tabbouleh” from “Happy Salads”

  1. Judy Hendershott says:

    I have made taboulleh from a wonderful recipe in Rick Stein’s ‘Mediterranean Escapes’, since this book was given to me in 2008, every time we visit our villa in Kalkan, Turkey. The chopping process is very simple, and we’re lucky to have all the flavoursome fresh produce from the farmers’ market in Kalkan, plus lemons picked from the lemon tree in our garden! It is a fresh and healthy staple of our diet there. I never make taboulleh in London, because the ingredients lack the intense flavour of those in Turkey.

Leave a Reply

