“Feta Bites” from “Sirocco”

IMG_8930Regular readers of this blog know that I am a big fan (read: obsessed) by cheese. I love it, in all its forms. Halloumi, Parmesan, Mozzarella, Asiago, Emmental, Comte, Cheddar, Wensleydale, Mont d’Or, Toite de Moine, … the list could go on, but I’m stopping at 10. Those were the cheeses I could list off the top of my head without breaking a sweat.

See what I mean?

So when I saw the recipe for Feta Bites, I was enthusiastic, to say the least. As was my family.

The recipe was easy to make, as basically all you’re doing is dredging feta cubes in flour, and then dipping them in a batter mix of egg, ice water and self-raising flour. Simples. You then have to fry them, briefly.

Personally, I then had a challenge to not eat all of the feta bites as they emerged all golden and lovely from the pan. I resisted as best I could, but I have to admit that I was not entirely successfully in resisting their charms before sharing with the rest of my family.

You also make a preserved lemon jam to go with them. While I enjoyed the jam, the rest of the family was lukewarm on it, at best. So when I do make this again, I’m not sure if I’m going to make the jam to go with it. Regardless, it was still a success.

In the introduction, Sabrina Ghayour writes, “Feta makes everything better.” I couldn’t agree more.

Want to try this recipe? Nigella Lawson, the patron saint of this blog, helpfully has posted the recipe on her website. Click through here to see it. 

 

“Feta Bites” from “Sirocco”

5 thoughts on ““Feta Bites” from “Sirocco”

  1. Jane says:

    Sounds gorgeous, I must try – I too am a cheese fiend! I’m thinking maybe a chilli jam from a jar would work if I couldn’t be bothered with the lemon jam part.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Chilli jam would definitely work a treat. What a great idea. Also, my son suggested you might be able to do the same thing with the mini-mozzarella balls you can buy. I might try that the next time.

  2. tarynnicole says:

    Aargghhh!!! I am trying to cook through Persiana before I start on Sirocco. Your posts are making this increasingly hard! xx

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Sorry! It really is a great book. I don’t actually have Persiana, but I once had a delicious dinner made out of it, that I still remember now. Yum.

Leave a Reply

