“Lemon, Tumeric & Black Pepper Salmon” from “Sirocco”

IMG_8960

Fish Friday!

I have to admit, at the outset, that I wasn’t convinced by this one. I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with turmeric, given that it once stained a favourite top of mine, and also left a stain on one of our tablecloths. I can appreciate that it tastes good, but I also feel a frisson of fear when it’s on the plate because I don’t want it to stain something else.

For this salmon dish, you make a paste with turmeric, lemon zest, black pepper and garlic olive oil and spread it over the top of the fish. In the book, Sabrina uses a whole side of salmon. I just used it on two large pieces instead because by the time I got to the fishmonger, they didn’t have any sides left. Also, a whole side would have been way too much food for the four of us, (even with two hungry teenage boys) so I just bought the two remaining pieces of salmon, knowing that I could make it work.

That’s one of the good things about this recipe: it’s adaptable. I made slightly less paste than was called for for the whole side, but the math I had to do there was really the most complicated thing about this dish. You make the paste. You bang it on the fish. You roast the fish for 22 minutes. Bam. You’re done. Next stop? Dinner.

Regular readers of this blog will know that I am a huge fan of easy, interesting, healthy and delicious fish dinners for dinner. I can include this in that category, even with the inclusion of  turmeric. The adults loved it, but the teenagers were split. The younger teenager (who didn’t like it) *might* have been put off by the bring orange glow that came off the fish. That’s too bad. He was missing something.

I would also imagine that you could spread the turmeric-lemon paste over any white fish and you would get a similar (read: tasty) result. Something to think about the next time.

Would we eat this again? 75 percent of us would. Happily. That’s a percentage I can live with.

If you’d like to try this recipe, click through this paragraph to find it on A Little Bird blog. 

“Lemon, Tumeric & Black Pepper Salmon” from “Sirocco”

Leave a Reply

