Cookbook of the Month, May 2016, It’s All Easy: Delicious Weekday Recipes for the Super-Busy Home Cook by Gwyneth Paltrow

Kirstin: This should be interesting, she’s got a new co-author chef to do it with [Thea Baumann]. Her first two books were written with the same chef [Julia Turshen], but she didn’t do this one. It’s someone new. It’s also set in Europe, as far as I can tell.

Maureen: Well, there’s a lot of pictures of her in Paris, anyway…

Kirstin: …And London, there’s some pictures in Hampstead.

Maureen: Let’s be honest. There’s a lot of pictures of Gwyneth, full stop.

Kirstin: What I like about is that it’s not all the healthy eating, it’s more approachable.

Maureen: I think it would be fair to say I’m not as excited about this as you are.

Kirstin: That’s Ok. Why?

Maureen: Where do I start? First of all, there’s so many pictures of her in the book, it’s distracting. I don’t need to see pictures of Gwyneth pushing her bike along the Seine in Paris when I’m trying to figure out what to make for dinner. Also, I think she’s trying to sell a lifestyle here…

Kirstin: Sure. That’s what she’s all about.

Maureen: But that’s unattainable to most of us because we’re not multi-millionaires and Oscar winners, like she is. But you loved her second book.

Kirstin: I still love her second book and I use it every week. This book cannot be as good as the second book. The second book was a masterpiece.

Maureen: To be fair, I do make her fish covered in breadcrumbs recipe fairly regularly. But the book isn’t on my high-rotation bookshelf.

Kirstin: There are so many things that I make all the time from the second book. She’s got loads of good fish recipes, I make her flattened chicken all the time when we have guests for dinner, and we love her turkey burgers. That’s my No. 1 book on my shelf.

Maureen: And you’re looking forward to this one.

Kirstin: It’s going to be good.

Maureen: I’m not so sure. We’ll see.

Cookbook of the Month, May 2016, It’s All Easy: Delicious Weekday Recipes for the Super-Busy Home Cook by Gwyneth Paltrow

2 thoughts on “Cookbook of the Month, May 2016, It’s All Easy: Delicious Weekday Recipes for the Super-Busy Home Cook by Gwyneth Paltrow

  1. Well this should be fun. They always say ‘super easy’ for busy people and then you find you need to travel 200 miles for an ingredient or put a day aside to marinate something. Will be following your progress 😊

  2. Looking forward to your reviews on this, I did clock it the other day in the bookshop and refused to pick it up on principle of it being a isn’t life rosey kind of book! So if there are some good recipes rather than cycling pictures I’ll reconsider 🙂

Leave a Reply

