Cleaning Out The Refrigerator: The Rest of the Recipes We Ate from “My Street Food Kitchen”

IMG_8574Ranked in order from Delicious to Disgusting

This does feel a bit like cleaning out the refrigerator. Except rather than opening the door and trying to forage something to eat out of the tupperware containers filling the shelves, I’m going through my photo library on my phone and seeing all the photos of things I made but didn’t get to post. Apologies for not being able to post these as and when we ate them. Work got in the way from me writing about them, but let me assure you that we loved eating them. Well, everything except the steak, which was awful. But I’ll get to that.

(1) Tonkatsu Pork with Tangy Slaw

This was, far and away, the top winner, not only out of these leftovers, but out of all of the things I cooked out of this cookbook in April. It was absolutely delicious, and I’ll definitely be making it again. Basically, you take a pork tenderloin, cut it in half diagonally, pound it flat, dip it in egg and panko crumbs and then fry it. Funnily enough, a few days before we ate this, Nicholas had jokingly (or maybe not) requested wiener schnitzel for dinner. When I was serving him up, I told him this was the Asian version of it. Everyone loved this. Will definitely be making it again.

The recipe can be found on The Carousel, which you can read by clicking through here.

(2) Roman Porchetta Sandwiches

I’ve come to the conclusion that we are very much a pork-orientated family. Just look at this list: three out of five of them are pork dishes. I’m sure it will surprise none of you to learn that we are also big fans of bacon, especially in sandwich form, on the weekend. But I digress.

Porchetta is definitely in the Sunday Dinner rotation over here. When asked what he wants for Sunday dinner, Nicholas (12) inevitably will say pork belly, which might be why we eat it so much. This was a good recipe for it. In the interest of full disclosure, we did not serve it on sandwiches, but we still all loved it.

(3) Napoli-style Pizza Dough (pictured above)

Saturday night is pizza night in our house. It has always been thus, and it always will be. We’ve even joked that on the years Christmas fell on a Saturday, we would have pizza. (We’ve never had the mettle to go through with it. But truth be told, pizza is what we eat on Boxing Day, so it is firmly part of our Christmas traditions.)

I was surprised when Tim said he wanted to give this recipe a try. He’s pretty wedded to the way he currently makes it– a technique that’s been honed over the 25 years (Note to self: that makes me feel old) he’s been making pizza for me. But he thought he’d give it a go. The interesting thing about this version was it used no olive oil at all.

For the pizza nerds among you, Tim’s usual method is to use 200 grams levain of leftover dough in the refrigerator and use it in the current dough batch, which is what he did here. This deviated from the recipe somewhat, though the recipe also called for making it two days in advance. Tim said by using the levain, it had the same outcome. Either way, it was still good.

Pizza night is ALWAYS delicious over here. While I thought this was also good, I thought his usual method was marginally better. The boys didn’t care. They hoovered up the pizza regardless.

(4) Barbeque Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Sweet & Sour Coleslaw

This is a bit of a cheat because while we did have pulled pork sandwiches on the night in question, in the end, I used my usual pressure cooker recipe and didn’t follow her recipe at all. I did make her coleslaw, but alas, I was the only person in the family to like it.

I suppose my reluctance in the end was that I read the recipe and I feared it would be a bit bland when compared to my usual method. So in the end I went ahead with my usual method, and also used the pressure cooker because I was short on time.

If you’re interested in my pulled pork pressure cooker recipe, let me know in the comments. I’ll post it here.

(5) Coffee-Rubbed Skirt Steak with Worcestershire Steak Sauce 

When I told our amazing butcher, Michael Jones at Drings Butchers, that I was going to rub coffee on the steak, he was a bit flummoxed. “Really?” he asked. “Are you sure that’s a good idea?”

I went back the next day and categorically told him it was not.

This was disastrous. As previously discussed on this blog, our family loves steak night. But the rub on this steak was so incredibly spicy that the boys didn’t even finish theirs. Tim and I did, but I have to admit, that was pretty spicy. (For someone whose favorite hot sauce is this one, I can take the heat.)

We ended up using their leftovers the next day in fajitas, so all was not lost.

But I know now that coffee rubbed steak really is not the way forward.

 

 

Cleaning Out The Refrigerator: The Rest of the Recipes We Ate from “My Street Food Kitchen”

One thought on “Cleaning Out The Refrigerator: The Rest of the Recipes We Ate from “My Street Food Kitchen”

Leave a Reply

