“Chorizo, Cheese & Pickled Jalapeno Quesadillas” and “Guacamole” from “My Street Food Kitchen”

IMG_8535I have to say that the boys were thrilled to see the triumphant return of quesadillas to our dinner table.

We used to have quesadillas all the time. Mostly on nights when we had half an hour between having to be at one place and then needing to go to another. Days of shuttling between swimming lessons/boy scouts/karate/climbing/clubs: I do not miss you.

In any case, the standard quesadillas I used to make all the time only had grated cheddar cheese in them. The boys were small, after all, and not the adventurous eaters we know and love today. In this version, you add chorizo too. You take two uncooked chorizo sausages and fry them up before adding them to the quesadillas. I also took them out of the casings, which make them easier to crumble over the top.

We all loved this new addition of chorizo, and asked that I do it this way again the next time I make quesadillas. (Had I followed the recipe to the letter, it would have also had pickled jalapeno, but I knew the boys would not be keen, so I left it out.)

To make the dinner slightly more fancy, I made some guacamole to go with it. This was good news for me, because the boys weren’t interested in having any, and as I’m on a bit of an avocado kick at the moment [read: can’t get enough of it], that made me happy.

I more or less followed the “Street Food”guacamole recipe. The adjustments I made included only using one avocado, since I knew I was going to be the only one eating it, and I also used hot sauce (this one: delicious) instead of chopped chillis. This top tip came via Mary McCarthy when I made her guacamole recipe in Food. It’s so much easier to just add a few drops of hot sauce  rather than chop up a chilli. Thanks, Mary.

This was a winner. We definitely will be making quesadillas this way again.

“Chorizo, Cheese & Pickled Jalapeno Quesadillas” and “Guacamole” from “My Street Food Kitchen”

Leave a Reply

