Our Verdict – “My Paris Kitchen”

Paris is one of my most favourite cities in the world, so I was very much looking forward to trying out David Lebovitz’s cookbook.This is one of several books that Lebovitz, an expat American in Paris and Parisian food blogger, has written.

The cookbook was good, but not great. As a faithful reader recently pointed out quite astutely, she could always tell when we like or don’t like a book based on how many posts we get up in one month. While we did try a couple of recipes, it hardly was the flurry of recipes we usually have.

I really did enjoy the short essays that went along with many of his recipes, explaining why he likes certain ingredients or recounting particular Parisian memories. I thought that made it more interesting than most cookbooks. I also loved all the photos of Paris, but then again, I’m a sucker for the City of Light.

Did I love this book? No. But I did enjoy it, and I plan to hang on to it for a little while longer.

“My Paris Kitchen”
Overall Grade (A- F): B (Maureen) We more or less liked everything I made, but sitting here now, there’s nothing that I look back on and think I must make again.
Best recipes: Maureen: Steak with Mustard Butter and French Fries.
Grade for Photography (A-F):  A
Any disasters? No
Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? Maureen: Bookshelf. If nothing else, I liked the pictures of Paris.

Our Verdict – “My Paris Kitchen”

2 thoughts on “Our Verdict – “My Paris Kitchen”

  1. Nicole Smith says:

    Have you tried any of Rachel Khoo’s books? Thought it could be interesting to do her Little Paris Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

