Your Wish Is My Command: My Carrot Cake Recipe

In my post the other day about David Lebovitz’s carrot cake, I mentioned that I have a carrot cake recipe of my own design that I’ve used successfully on multiple occasions. A few of you asked for it, so here it is. Alas, I looked through the 25,000+ photos I have on my hard drive (sadly, that’s not a typo) and could find no good pictures of said cake. You’ll have to use your imagination.

Your wish is my command, faithful readers of A Cookbook A Month. I hope you like this Carrot Cake as much as we do.

Mo’s Triple Decker Carrot Cake For Thanksgiving and all other High Holidays

For the cake:

2 cups flour

2 cups sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp ground cloves

½ tsp nutmeg

½ tsp allspice

½ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

1 cup finely chopped walnuts

4 eggs, beaten

3 cups shredded carrot

1 cup sunflower oil

Preheat oven to 350F/175C. Grease and flour three 9 inch cake pans.

In a large bowl stir together all the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, spices, salt, baking soda and walnuts).

In another bowl, combine eggs, carrot and oil. Add egg mixture into flour mixture. Stir until combined. Pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden toothpick comes out clean. Cool the layers in pans for 10 minutes, then remove from pans and allow to cool thoroughly on wire racks.

Perfect Cream Cheese Icing

(After many, many trials and even more errors, I have realized this one is the best)

150g unsalted butter, softened

900g icing sugar

375g full-fat cream cheese (cold)

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Using the mixer with the paddle attachment on low speed, beat the butter and icing sugar together until no large lumps of butter remain and the mixture is sandy in texture. Add the cream cheese and mix together slowly until everything is incorporated, add the vanilla, then increase the speed to medium and beat the frosting until it is soft and fluffy.

Assemble the cake once the layers have cooled. Decorate with walnuts, if you fancy it.

Your Wish Is My Command: My Carrot Cake Recipe

8 thoughts on “Your Wish Is My Command: My Carrot Cake Recipe

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      That’s interesting. I’ve never seen that variation. Not sure how I feel about white chocolate though. I’m not really a fan.

  1. Erin says:

    Well your recipe was a complete success with really picky people and I even messed up not having baking powder and still got raves and ate too much myself!! Thank you Erin / Anna’s big sister!

Leave a Reply

