“Chicken with Mustard” from “My Paris Kitchen”

IMG_8295

When we were on our honeymoon, one of our stops was Dijon, France. I can still remember going into the local market and seeing one seller with hundreds of different mustards. As a young American abroad, this was surprising to me, mainly because I thought mustard only came in two different varieties: bright yellow –best on hot dogs– or when you were feeling fancy, grainy. Little did I know the vast variety of mustards available.

Mustard in more than two varieties was one of many things I learned that September while we were journeying around France. The long list of some of the other things I learned on this trip are probably best saved for a post another time, but chief among them was a love of French food, especially goat cheese and escargot, which remain to this day.

So this dish brought me back, in a small way, to our honeymoon 20 years ago. It feels as though you couldn’t get more French than with a classic combination of chicken and mustard. Yum.

This is another one-pot marvel, which is always a good thing. It’s also the star of the cookbook’s cover, and with good reason. You can very nearly smell it when you look at the picture. We had it for a birthday dinner, and it was a huge success (aside from my niece, who doesn’t like mustard at all). I’m sure we will have it again.

Now not only do I appreciate a good mustard, but I love all of the variations available as well. A few years ago in France, I came across tarragon mustard, which was lovely, and became a new favourite. Unfortunately, it’s also impossible to find here in the U.K. So I guess I just have to return to stock up on it. Sigh.

If you’d like to make this yourself, the Washington Post printed the recipe. Click through this paragraph to read it.

“Chicken with Mustard” from “My Paris Kitchen”

Leave a Reply

