“Chocolate Devil’s Food Cake” from “The Violet Bakery Cookbook”

IMG_8210

It was a dark and stormy Sunday, and what was needed was cake. Preferably chocolate.

When he first paged through the book, Nicholas (age 12) tagged this recipe as one he definitely wanted me to make. I’m always happy to try another chocolate cake recipe. Though there are many that I’ve made that have been quite successful, we’re always happy to eat chocolate cake.

Yet again, this was another variation of a classic baked good, in this case, chocolate devil’s food cake. The verdict? Well, I have to be honest and say it was mixed. Seventy-five percent of the family thought it was fantastic. The remaining 25 percent– that was me– thought while it was good, it wasn’t Blow The Doors Off good.

Maybe I was being too picky. I was disappointed that it sunk pretty badly in the middle, which, according to the Internet, was down to having too much rising agent in the cake. (You use both bicarbonate of soda and baking powder in this recipe.) The icing covered the problem pretty well, but it still bothered me.

Also, I’m not sure I did the icing quite right. I did, actually, make a shortcut by using pre-made caramel sauce, rather than going to the trouble of doing it myself. In my defense, the caramel sauce was high-quality stuff. But maybe the icing would have been better if I’d made my own. (Doubtful. I find making caramel incredibly stressful, and I don’t think I’m particularly good at it.)

Like the rest of my family, you may agree to disagree. I may make this again, I may not. I’m not sure. What cannot be disputed, however, that dark and stormy Sundays are always improved with the addition of chocolate cake.

“Chocolate Devil’s Food Cake” from “The Violet Bakery Cookbook”

Leave a Reply

