Our Verdict – “Simply Nigella: Feel Good Food” by Nigella Lawson

Maureen: This has been the best month, by far, in 2015.

Kirstin: Absolutely. i’m so sad it’s coming to an end. It’s been an epic month.

Maureen: I think it’s funny that one of our readers has twigged that the more recipes we publish, the more we like the book.

Kirstin: Ah yes.

Maureen: This book was so great for so many reasons. I loved that there was a wide array of things to try, everything from breakfast to dessert. I loved how for the most part they were straightforward to prepare. I loved that they were just different enough to make them interesting, but not so different that the boys would refuse to eat it.

Kirstin: And the recipes are really tasty.

Maureen: Even Andrew commented on how much he loved the food from this month’s cookbook. I did so some recipes that were just okay, but I didn’t write those up and there weren’t that many of those anyway.

Kirstin: The winners were so good it evened out. It was a fantastic book.

Maureen: Mine’s already splattered and stained and all sorts. It already looks very well loved. That’s always a good sign.

Kirstin: Always.

“Simply Nigella”
Overall Grade (A- F): A+ (Kirstin) A+ (Maureen)
Best recipes: Kirstin: Nutella Brownies and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pots. Maureen: In addition to those, the salted chocolate tart was unbelievably good.
Grade for Photography (A-F):  A
Any disasters? Kirstin: Only when I didn’t read the recipe correctly. Maureen: There were no disasters, but there were definitely some recipes we didn’t absolutely love, so I didn’t write those up.
Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? Kirstin: Bookshelf, high rotation. Maureen: Same

Our Verdict – “Simply Nigella: Feel Good Food” by Nigella Lawson

7 thoughts on “Our Verdict – “Simply Nigella: Feel Good Food” by Nigella Lawson

  1. Robyn Jaquet says:

    Would be helpful to hear briefly which recipes didn’t quite work and why, as a heads up for us future readers/cooks! Really looking forward to getting this at Christmas, I have enjoyed watching her on bbc iPlayer too.

    I have been reading your blog for ages, and always enjoy it. Would be fun to maybe invite some of your regular readers to write a guest post on a favourite book or recipe. I would love to contribute!!

  2. Katherine W says:

    Thanks so much, I thoroughly enjoyed reading what you thought of the new book, I’m getting it for Christmas and can’t wait now!

  3. I love your blog! And I agree, this is an A+ book. I think it might be NIgella’s best, but I haven’t used them all so I guess I can’t say. My daughter’s favorite so far is the recipe for the cross-hatched potatoes. They’re so simple, yet I never thought to make potatoes using that method. We’re trying the snails tonight.

Leave a Reply

