“Lasagna” from “Gizzi’s Healthy Appetite”

Sorry. No pictures, as I deleted a bunch from my phone in a flurry before leaving for our trip to Paris. Trust me. It looked just like a lasagna.

Maureen: Lasagna Night!

All: Hooray!

Maureen: Though I have to say for the record that this lasagna is different than the ones I usually make.

Tim: How?

Maureen: It’s a meat-based lasagna, rather than a vegetable one like I usually make. What do you think?

Andrew (16): Yum. You know I love lasagna.

Nicholas (12): It’s good, but I think I like the other one better.

Andrew: Me too.

Maureen: Does anyone want to guess how long it took me to make the meat sauce?

Tim: No. That sounds like a loaded question to me, so I don’t want to answer.

Maureen: It is a loaded question. It took me four hours to make the meat sauce.

Andrew: Four hours!

Maureen: Indeed. Not four hours at the stove, mind you, but still four hours. As this is neither Thanksgiving nor Christmas, I don’t want to spend four hours making something. It would never live up to that sort of time commitment.

Tim: The sauce is good, but I can’t taste four hours worth of cooking in it.

Maureen: I think we’ll go back to our usual lasagna. This is fine, but not transformative, and given how long it took me to make it, it ought to be transformative.

“Lasagna” from “Gizzi’s Healthy Appetite”

7 thoughts on ““Lasagna” from “Gizzi’s Healthy Appetite”

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Like you, I tend to cobble something together and not follow a recipe. But a firm favourite in this house is when I use roasted peppers, zucchini (courgettes) and fried onions along with copious amounts of ricotta and mozzarella.

  1. Kim Daltrey says:

    Always know if a cookbook is likely to be a success by the number of recipes you lovely ladies cook from it. This one does’t seem to be a big hit as the cooking of dishes from it seems few and far between. Is this truly a telling sign?
    Don’t comment that often but really enjoy this blog. Love the anticipation at the beginning of each month of ‘Which book are they going to choose next?!’. Enjoy the running family commentary too.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Hi Kim.
      That is an EXCELLENT way of judging how much we like the book. Good observation. (For what it’s worth, there’s going to be a lot of posts in November for the new Nigella book.)
      We’re so glad you like the blog. Thanks for reading.

  2. Nicole Smith says:

    Oh dear – this month doesn’t seem to be going that well. If you’re looking for new authors to try, I would be curious to know what you think of either Donal Skehan or Skye Gyngell’s books.

Leave a Reply

