Our Verdict – “Everyday Super Food” by Jamie Oliver

Maureen: I feel a bit meh about it. I was hoping it would be better than it was. It wasn’t terrible, but I can’t see myself using this book very much again.

Kirstin: I didn’t feel the food was very good. it was missing something.

Maureen: I agree. More than once, we  tasted something and said this needs something else, but we couldn’t figure out what it could be.

Kirstin: It didn’t make me happy.

Maureen: I think the problem with Jamie is that he feels compelled to release one book a  year. Maybe if he took his time, like Nigella for example, and left a few years between books they would be better. I feel like it’s been years since I used a book of Jamie’s and I put it on to my high rotation shelf. That’s disappointing.

Kirstin: One thing that cheesed me off about the book is that most of the recipes were for two people. Who cooks for two?

Maureen: I noticed that too! It was so annoying. Jamie has a family, he knows that many people have a crowd to feed. He could at least scale up each recipe to four, rather than having us do the math.

Kirstin: The other thing that annoyed me was all the brown rice and pasta he used. I couldn’t find brown couscous anyway. Brown couscous! Where can you find that? How ridiculous.

Maureen: I do admire his desire to get us to eat better, but this book did not inspire me.

Kirstin: It’s too worthy. If it had been anything like Anna Jones’s books, it would have been fine. Or Gwyneth Paltrow’s book, which was healthy and tasty and I still use all the time.

Maureen: All in all, a disappointment.

Kirstin: Yes. There’s something missing in this cookbook. The missing ingredient is joy.

“Everyday Super Food”
Overall Grade (A- F): C (Kirstin) C (Maureen)
Best recipes: Kirstin: None. Maureen: None spring to mind, unfortunately.
Grade for Photography (A-F):  Taken by Jamie! The photography was good. A.
Any disasters? Kirstin: Happiness Pasta. The Tree Trunk Pasta. Maureen: No disasters exactly, but nothing I’m excited about trying again, either.
Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? Kirstin: It’s in a holding pattern at the moment. I might give it another go. Maureen: I’m pretty sure I’m going to donate this to the library. I suspect someone else would get more use of it than I would. On the other hand, maybe I should give it another chance. We’ll see.

Our Verdict – “Everyday Super Food” by Jamie Oliver

8 thoughts on “Our Verdict – “Everyday Super Food” by Jamie Oliver

  1. I’ve been following your reviews with interest this month. What I’ve seen of the book doesn’t inspire me and I’m not too impressed by the tv show either. It seems like he’s jumping on the bandwagon.Think I’ll give this a skip.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      When I dropped a bunch off last month (I think there were at least 10), they were very appreciative. They had all been released in the last two years, though. They’re not interested in the old ones. But I thought it was a nice way to cycle my spare copies into the community.

Leave a Reply

