“Buddha Bowls” from “A Modern Way to Cook”

IMG_7334I could relabel this post as, “Searching for Massaman Curry Paste.” (Spoiler alert: I found it. Eventually.)

As loyal readers of this blog will know, if I can’t find an ingredient in any of my local shops, it’s not worth making. I say this because we’ve got an amazing butcher, greengrocer, fishmonger, cheesemonger, health food shop and  three major supermarkets (Waitrose, Co-Op and Sainsbury’s Express), all within walking distance of the house.

In this case, I was fairly sure that Waitrose would have the massaman curry paste. Where I went wrong was searching high and low for it in the Indian section, forgetting that massman is actually a Thai curry. Once I was in the appropriate international section– Thai– I did eventually find it, and breathed a sigh of relief because I meant I didn’t have to make my own paste.

The Buddha Bowl is a nice assortment of potatoes, green beans, peanuts, rice, carrots, tofu and the aforementioned massaman curry paste. The adults rather enjoyed it, though we both thought it could have used more sauce. However, that might be down to operator error as I may have boiled it down too much in my pursuit of a thick sauce. The children were less impressed, though they did empty their bowls.

This was the first time I’ve ever used tofu, despite having enjoyed our Meat Free Monday for several years now. I am obliged to report that the boys were not impressed. At first I tried to pass it off as, “a type of vegan cheese,” but they weren’t buying it and guessed it was tofu. They didn’t like it. For me, I didn’t mind it, but I”m not sure it added much to the dish, if I’m honest.

As we’re marching ever closer to the end of the month, I feel that now is the time to express my frustration of the time estimates included in the book to get a recipe cooked. I consider myself somewhat skilled in the kitchen, so I figured I would be able to knock these recipes out in the time estimated. I’ve yet to do so. Even tonight’s dish, when I took the shortcut of using the curry paste rather than making my own, took about an hour and 15 minutes to finish (30 minutes more than the estimate).

On the one hand, I can understand why Anna did it this way. She probably wanted to show that vegetarian cooking can be done in a reasonable amount of time, despite all of the prep a typical vegetarian recipe takes. But for me it’s a source of constant frustration and I feel as though she’s setting me up to fail. The time estimates bum me out, and probably will continue to do so whenever I cook from this book.

If you’d like to make this yourself, click through this paragraph to find the recipe in the Guardian. 

“Buddha Bowls” from “A Modern Way to Cook”

2 thoughts on ““Buddha Bowls” from “A Modern Way to Cook”

  1. Catherine says:

    I really like your blog. Right now Im cooking off “modern way to eat” “gizzi’s healthy appetite” “mamushka” and “plenty more” and I love seeing others prepare same recipes as I do! I live in Paris and its difficult getting some ingredients which are used a lot in vegan/vegetarian books so I have to replace (I got hold of tahini and chia seeds lately though!) but ugh I love british cookbooks (even if the cuisine or author is not a brit)! Cheers!

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      So glad you like our blog. I can relate to not finding the right ingredients– it always frustrates me. But sometimes I look at a specific obscure ingredient– coconut sugar being the most recent one– and think, “Nope. I’m not even going to bother.”

Leave a Reply

