“Courgetti with Pistachio, Green Herbs and Ricotta” from “A Modern Way to Cook”

IMG_7305

I know! It looks JUST LIKE spaghetti but it’s actually courgettes! It’s like magic!

Look at that! I’ve jumped on the culinary bandwagon and made courgetti. My 2015 is complete.

For those of you not paying attention or living under a rock, courgetti– spaghetti made out of courgettes– is all the rage these days. Several of the cookbooks we’ve featured in the past year, including the Hemsley sisters and Ella Woodward, have sung the praises of courgetti. I was skeptical, to say the least.

One of the main reasons I resisted is because the easiest way to make of courgetti is to buy spiralizer, a special kitchen gadget.  Believe me, I’m not one to shy away from new kitchen gadgets. I love them. In fact, at the moment, I’m trying to figure out a way to justify buying this amazing and beautiful walnut and maple ravioli rolling pin. (Suggestions welcome in the comments). But I just didn’t think a spiralizer would be worth the investment, given that they cost about £25,  would take up a good deal of room in my kitchen cabinets, and I wasn’t sure how often I would use it.

But then I read Anna Jones’s opening suggestion, where she told me you could buy a hand-held julienne peeler, which is much cheaper (£3.55 at Lakeland) and takes up much less space. When I found it at Lakeland,  I was so pleased about it I actually texted Anna and Kirstin from the store to tell them I had found a solution to my lack-of-spiralizer problem. It turns out that Kirstin did exactly the same thing.

Not surprisingly, making spaghetti out of courgettes did take some time, but I think it was time well spent, given how healthy courgetti is, especially when compared to the usual spaghetti.

This is a very long-winded way of saying that it was delicious, at least this version was. The boys agreed, saying that it was much better than they thought it would be (high praise, given their low expectations). The proof of everyone’s enjoyment could be found in the empty serving bowl at the end of dinner.

Would I make it again? I would indeed. Highly recommended.

If you’d like to make this yourself, click through this paragraph to find the recipe in Sainsbury’s Magazine.

“Courgetti with Pistachio, Green Herbs and Ricotta” from “A Modern Way to Cook”

Leave a Reply

