“Meatball Sub” from “Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube”

IMG_7016Maureen (while admiring the sandwiches and plating them up): This is going to be SO GOOD.

Nicholas (12): Can you provide a written guarantee for that?

Maureen: Ha. You’re funny. Go sit down.

[Now sitting at the dinner table, and we’re eating outside on the patio because the weather in London has been spectacular.]

Andrew (15, taking a bite): This. Is. GLORIOUS.

Maureen: See? What did I tell you? I couldn’t agree more.

Nicholas: This is good, but messy to eat.

Maureen: Well, sure, but that’s part of the fun. When I was growing up, meatball subs used to be one of my favourite things to eat. Of course, growing up in Northern New Jersey, they knew how to do both a meatball and a sub, so it made for some good eating.

Tim: I think the meatballs get a little lost, with the cheese and the tomato sauce.

Maureen: Always the contrarian.

Tim: It’s true.

Maureen: I can see why you’d say that, but I disagree. I think the extra sauce and the extra cheese is all part of the experience. I see that you’ve followed Gennaro’s instructions to put the rocket salad in the sandwich. I didn’t do that as I thought that was sacrilege.

Andrew: Remember that great meatball restaurant we went to in New York City last summer?

Maureen: That place was great. What was it called?

Nicholas: It was called The Meatball Shop.

Maureen: Good memory! It does what it says on the tin. I would definitely go back there again, and I would definitely make this again. Do you guys agree?

Boys [in unison]: YES.

Tim: Sure, but maybe with less sauce.

Note: If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times this month: it does my head in that they can’t list the recipe, or at least list the ingredients, in the text underneath the video on FoodTube. Oddly, there is a recipe for this on Jamie Oliver’s website, but it’s not the recipe that’s in this video– perhaps there’s more than one version of the meatball sub– so I won’t link to it here.

However, if you’d like to see the original video, it’s here:

“Meatball Sub” from “Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube”

Leave a Reply

