“Cajun Rice & Barbeque Chicken Burrito” from “Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube”

IMG_6994Andrew (15): Is this a Jamie Oliver recipe?

Maureen: Indeed it is.

Tim: What’s with the feta cheese?

Maureen: Jamie said to use feta cheese on the burritos. What Jamie wants, Jamie gets. I know it’s a bit strange, but I started thinking about it, and feta isn’t unlike the crumbled cheese they use at Wahaca, so I went with it.

Nicholas (12): I think it’s good.

Andrew: Me gusta!

Maureen: It’s appropriate that you would use Spanish to describe how much you like this dish, since we are having burritos.

Tim: The spciy rice is good.

Maureen: It’s a variation of the cowboy rice we like so much, though in this case, you use pre-made rice. This is because the recipe was sponsored by Uncle Ben’s, which strikes me as a bit strange, but there we are. Despite use the pre-made rice, it’s made significantly better with the addition of fried peppers and onions. Yum.

Nicholas: We should definitely have this again.

Andrew: I agree.

Maureen: The only change I made is I didn’t make it with leftover turkey tossed in barbeque sauce, since we didn’t have any turkey. So I fried up some chicken with fajita seasoning, like I usually do, and that worked a treat.

Tim: Huzzah for burrito night.

Maureen: Indeed.

 

If you’d like to watch the original video, see it here:

“Cajun Rice & Barbeque Chicken Burrito” from “Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube”

2 thoughts on ““Cajun Rice & Barbeque Chicken Burrito” from “Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube”

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      There’s nothing wrong the El Paso kits; I’ve used them myself. But this is a much better alternative. For what it’s worth, I got an envelope of fajita seasoning, which was right next to the El Paso kit, to season the chicken. Try this one the next time. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

