“Cookbook” of the Month, June 2015: Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube

images
Maureen: This month, it’s not a cookbook, it’s something completely different. We’re going to review Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube!

Kirstin: This is exciting. We both read “Time Out” this week, and there was all this stuff about Food Tube, and I know Jamie Oliver is putting all sorts of money into Food Tube, so I thought we should give it a go.

Maureen: So then, once we decided to do it, we tried to find some recipes… [starts laughing] It’s very hard to find recipes, and there’s no obvious index or way to search easily. This is going to be challenging.

Kirstin: I don’t know how I’m going to cook from it either. I guess I’m going to have to watch the videos from the iPad.

Maureen: I thought once I found something I liked, I would just print out the recipe and cook from that, the old fashioned way.

Kirstin: But that’s not the point of YouTube, is it.

Maureen: You’re right. Should we be watching and cooking at the same time?

Kirstin: I’m not sure.

Maureen: I guess we’ll figure it out as we go along.

Kirstin: And Jools starts Family Food Tube later this month.

Maureen: He’s also got Drinks Tube, for cocktails and other fun drinks.

Kirstin: Yup

Maureen: There is some original content, but there’s also clips from old series he’s done, which to me seems a bit of a retread. But if people like it, why not.

Kirstin: I think he’s putting so much money and effort into it because he thinks this is the future.

Maureen: Or he just wants to cut out the middle men, which are the television channels.

Kirstin: We’re doing the future.

Maureen: This will be an adventure.

Kirstin: We had to do this because we couldn’t bear all the healthy cookbooks that are on sale at the moment.

Maureen: A little piece of my soul dies every time I read a cookbook and they tell me I need to use a spiralizer.

Kirstin: Or they say sugar is evil.

Maureen: Or butter will kill you.

Kirstin: No one uses butter any more. It’s all about coconut oil. It’s rubbish.

Maureen: So more traditional dishes, using non-traditional means to find them. Let’s see what happens.

“Cookbook” of the Month, June 2015: Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube

2 thoughts on ““Cookbook” of the Month, June 2015: Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube

  1. Nicole Smith says:

    I’ve watched both FoodTube & DrinksTube since their launch although without any intention of cooking anything but more for entertainment. To help a bit: Chiappa Sisters mostly have quick & easy Italian suppers. I think if you go to “channels” it will come up with a list of various cooks & chefs associated with FoodTube.

Leave a Reply

