Our Verdict – “Food52 Genius Recipes”

I thought this would be a great book. I wasn’t disappointed.

To be sure, it wasn’t perfect. But then again, no cookbook is. In the many years we’ve been doing this blog, we’ve never found a cookbook that was faultless in every respect. We’ve had several that we’ve deemed special enough for our high-rotation cookbook shelves, but there still hasn’t been one where we loved every recipe.

I’m not sure that such a cookbook exists, but we keep trying to find it, which is why this blog persists month after month.

Even though this cookbook wasn’t perfect, but it definitely would be one of my Desert Island Cookbooks– not that such a thing exists, but if it did, I would put it on my list. There were enough fantastic recipes that I would want to make over and over again when stranded on a desert island that I think it would be worth taking.

I’ve already made the salt-baked salmon again, and I see it in regular rotation for Fish Friday. The three-ingredient tomato sauce was a success, and I can see myself making that regularly. The hummus was delicious, and now that a friendly reader told me I can freeze the leftovers, I can see making it again soon. We all swooned over the chocolate cake, and it lasted in the house less than a day (which is definitely a sign).

Paging through the cookbook, I found great comfort in the fact that lots of the “Genius Recipes” originated from books we’ve featured here, like “Jerusalem” and “The Moro Cookbook”, but also cookbooks that I love unconditionally, like The Silver Palate and Julia Child.

No, I didn’t love everything. The roasted butternut squash salad was a disappointment, the meatballs didn’t stack up against our absolute favourite from Polpo, and the chocolate mousse wasn’t universally loved by my family. Kirstin had a smoky disaster from the roast chicken, and would’t be making that again either.

Despite this, there were more successes than failures, and I can see myself continuing to try out this cookbook after May is over. Overall, it was a delicious month.

“Food52: Genius Recipes”
Overall Grade (A- F): A (Maureen)
Best recipes: Maureen: Salt-baked salmon. Chocolate cake. Whole roasted cauliflower. Grilled cheese.
Grade for Photography (A-F):  A.
Any disasters? No.
Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation?High-rotation bookshelf

Our Verdict – “Food52 Genius Recipes”

Leave a Reply

