“Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

IMG_6864Maureen: Chocolate cake!

Nicholas (Now 12! Happy Birthday!): Just like I asked for!

Maureen: Your wish is my command. Well, not really, but it’s a nice thing to say. It makes me feel like Aladdin. This is yet another recipe from a cookbook I already have. This is a Nigella Lawson recipe from her “How to be a Domestic Goddess” cookbook, which I’ve loved for years, though I can’t remember if I’ve ever made this particular cake.

[Quiet descends over the table as everyone is too busy enjoying their cake to talk.]

Nicholas: This is delicious.

Andrew (15): I read something recently that decoded various British sayings. “Not bad,” means OK. “Not too bad,” means good. “Not too bad at all,” means it’s AMAZING.

Maureen: Which one is it then?

Andrew: Not too bad at all.

Maureen: Agreed. It’s like a cross between a brownie and a cake, and it works. I don’t even care that it has completely collapsed in the middle. It’s supposed to, apparently. Some people have even taken to calling this, “Ugly Chocolate Cake.” I can see what they mean. Should I make this again?

All: YES PLEASE!

Would you like to give this “Not too bad at all” chocolate cake a try? We recommend that you do. Click through this paragraph to find the original recipe on Food52. 

“Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

Leave a Reply

