“Chocolate Mousse” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

IMG_6840Maureen: For tonight’s dessert, we have a bit of food magic going on.

Andrew (15) What do you mean?

Maureen: Well, for this chocolate mousse, all you do is heat water, add chocolate, wait until it melts and then whip it into mousse.

Tim: How does that work?

Maureen: Because… science! II don’t understand it either, so let’s just leave it at science. Usually with a chocolate mousse, you whip egg whites and then fold in melted chocolate, so I was surprised when this worked. What do you think?

Andrew: It seems very rich to me.

Maureen: There may be some operator error in this, too. I may have over-whipped the mousse, but I wasn’t sure what consistency it should have. I also followed the suggestion and mixed the chocolate with equal parts water and orange juice. I think it’s nice.

Nicholas (11): I’m not so sure about the orange juice. I think it’s overwhelming mine.

Tim: I like the orange juice.

Maureen: I think this is good, but I’m not sure I did it correctly. It is very rich.

Andrew: I don’t really like it.

Nicholas: Neither do I.

Maureen: Maybe this chocolate mousse is for sophisticated palates only.

Tim: Maybe so. Then there would be more for us!

“Chocolate Mousse” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

Leave a Reply

