“Salt-Baked Herbed Salmon with Red Onion-Caper Vinaigrette” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

IMG_6797Andrew (15, said as he approaches the dinner table): This smells amazing.

Nicholas (11): I agree. This smells great.

Maureen: Yes. I think we’re on to a winner here for Fish Friday. We might want to taste it before we reach our conclusion, though.

Nicholas: What is it?

Maureen: It’s salmon that’s covered with herbs and is salt baked. I really wanted to try this because I’ve always wanted to bake something in salt, but have never got around to it.

Tim: Was it easy?

Maureen: Yes. The most complicated thing about it was I had to go to the natural food store and buy rock salt in bulk. Once you have that, it’s only a matter of chopping up the herbs to put on top, then roasting the fish for 40 minutes on top of the salt. All of the herbs and the fennel is what smells so good.

Nicholas: This is delicious.

Andrew: I would definitely want to eat this again.

Maureen: And I would definitely want to make it again. This is great. The only thing I’m not as sure about is the vinaigrette, since you boys don’t seem to be interested in it.

Tim: I like the vinaigrette.

Maureen: So do I. Maybe it’s for more mature tastes or something. Regardless, this is a win for Fish Friday.

If you would like to see the recipe, Google has the book in Google Books. Click through this link to see it for yourself.

 

“Salt-Baked Herbed Salmon with Red Onion-Caper Vinaigrette” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

2 thoughts on ““Salt-Baked Herbed Salmon with Red Onion-Caper Vinaigrette” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

  1. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I can’t be more enthusiastic about this. In fact, I’m going to make it again as soon as I can get away with it– like maybe next Fish Friday.

Leave a Reply

