“Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Goat Cheese” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

IMG_6829As soon as I saw this recipe listed in “Genius Recipes,” I knew I wanted to try it. I am a sucker for cauliflower.

Usually when I make cauliflower, I toss it in olive oil, add some salt and pepper and then roast it for about 20 minutes (covered in foil so the small florets won’t burn.) It’s a winner every time, especially for Sunday roasts.

For this recipe, you don’t separate out the florets, which can be a boring and laborious job. Instead, you roast the cauliflower whole after you’ve poached it. While it’s poaching and roasting, you make the whipped goat cheese. Your vegan friends can opt out of using the whipped goat cheese, which gives more for everyone else to enjoy. (It’s also great on toasted multi-seed bread the next day.)

I am not sure the picture does it justice. It looks simply magnificent when you take it out of the oven.

This is the sort of dish that would be perfect for a dinner party, as who wouldn’t be impressed with such a glorious sight as a whole head of cauliflower, tinged brown from roasting. I’d recommend cutting it into wedges at the dinner table; a modern take on the classic Norman Rockwell image of carving a turkey at the table.

One caveat: you should watch the amount of chilli flakes you use. The recipe calls for one tablespoon– or to taste. If you’re making this for less robust palates, I’d recommend using a lot less than one tablespoon. Both of the boys found this far too spicy with the one tablespoon of chilli flakes I used.

Would I make this again? Absolutely.

Want to give this a try? I’d recommend it. Click through this paragraph to find the recipe on Food52.

“Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Goat Cheese” from “Food52 Genius Recipes”

Leave a Reply

