“Pasta with Yogurt & Carmelized Onions” from “Food 52 Genius Recipes”

 

IMG_6822

Maureen: I was all excited to make this, and now that we’re eating it, I’m not so sure.

Tim: Why?

Maureen: Because I thought it would be really interesting to make pasta with yogurt, but now that we’re eating it, it just seems a variation on the pasta I used to make for the boys with creme fraiche.

Andrew (15): I remember that. You used to make it a lot.

Maureen: Yes. I called it a cheater’s fettuccine alfredo. In that case, I also added peas, and used parmesan cheese rather than pecorino.

Nicholas (11): Peas would be nice.

Maureen: Yes. I wanted to add peas, but when I went to the freezer to take them out, that’s when I discovered we were out of them. It was too late to go to the store for more. What do you think?

Nicholas: It’s very filling.

Andrew: It really is.

Maureen: Do you say that because you don’t like it, or because you really find it filling?

Andrew: I really find it filling.

Nicholas: Me too.

Maureen: Would you like me to make it again?

Tim: Sure. Why not? It’s nice enough.

Maureen: Maybe I would be more excited if it didn’t remind me so much of the past dish I’ve made a million times before. But at least I learned that I can use Greek yogurt if I don’t have any creme fraiche to hand.

“Pasta with Yogurt & Carmelized Onions” from “Food 52 Genius Recipes”

Leave a Reply

