“Chicken Rye Schnitzel with Mustard Sauce” from “A Bird in the Hand”

IMG_6651Cooking this recipe is hardly testing out the cookbook because as soon as I read the ingredients and the method, I knew my family would love it.

I was right.

What’s not to love? Chicken pounded down, then breaded and fried. To top it all off, a creamy mustard sauce. Yum.

Unfortunately I did have to deviate somewhat from the printed recipe as despite my best efforts to make rye breadcrumbs, they didn’t work out. The bread wasn’t stale enough, so I didn’t get bread crumbs in the food processor, but something more akin to bread mush. I ended up using some sourdough breadcrumbs that I had in the freezer that worked just as well.

For us, this is a delightful variation of the firm family favourite, chicken parmigiana. Only in this case, there’s no tomato sauce or mozzarella cheese.

Would I make it again? Absolutely. It received a universal thumbs up from around the dinner table.

Would you like to make this? Sure you would. Click through on this paragraph to get the recipe, which was printed in the Telegraph.

“Chicken Rye Schnitzel with Mustard Sauce” from “A Bird in the Hand”

Leave a Reply

