Cookbook of the month, April 2015, “A Bird in the Hand” by Diana Henry

Kirstin: I had such a lovely chat with her on Twitter. She’s such a nice person.

Maureen: I saw that. She made some good recommendations, too. We really liked her last book a year ago.

Kirstin:  I really like Diana Henry. I’ve got all of her cookbooks.

Maureen: Are you worried about eating a lot of chicken this month?

Kirstin: We eat a lot of chicken anyway, about three times a week, so I’m not worried.

Maureen: I’m slightly concerned it will call for weird ingredients, but I will persevere.

Kirstin: I’m happy to find odd ingredients for Diana Henry because I know the end result will be worth it.  I”m looking forward to the flavours after the bland month we’ve had.

 

Cookbook of the month, April 2015, “A Bird in the Hand” by Diana Henry

3 thoughts on “Cookbook of the month, April 2015, “A Bird in the Hand” by Diana Henry

  1. Robyn Jaquet says:

    I made her chicken with smoked paprika this weekend, and can recommend. Just salt, pepper and paprika, bit of oild to make it stick. I seasoned mine then stuck in the fridge overnight. Cooked with potatoes for 2 hrs. Made the aioli, v good tho less yellow than hers, and did steamed asparagus and big green salad. Lovely relaxed Saturday cooking. I did not do nearly as much pimenton as she calls for, as I was worried it would burn and taste bitter. But really scrummy chicken and delightfully faff-free.

Leave a Reply

