“Cauliflower and Potato Curry” from “Deliciously Ella”

IMG_6631I won’t bury the lede here. We liked it!

I have to say I was surprised. I’m a bit dubious about this whole book, which is why I’m struggling to find recipes that I want to make. But as it was Meat Free Monday, I thought I would look again through the book hoping to find something that would work for last night’s dinner. And I did.

After making the Veggie Lasagna where herbs and spices were completely absent (and would have gone a long way to making that dish better), this dish went completely in the other direction, with a combined 12 tablespoons of spices, along with garlic and jalapeno peppers. Lest you worry that’s a lot of flavouring, it all gets absorbed in the chopped tomatoes and coconut milk in which the vegetables cook.

Our only criticism of this dish was there were too many potatoes. We all felt it was mostly a potato dish, with the other ingredients fighting for attention. The next time I make it, I’ll only use about 750g of them (or 12 charlotte potatoes), but I’ll also double the amount of cauliflower I use.

Also it has to be said for the less experienced cook that the instructions are a bit vague at times. What exactly does a “generous amount of olive oil” mean? I guessed, but I’m still not sure I had it right, and you could quite easily use too much olive oil and then end up with a greasy curry.

We enjoyed it. It scored an average 7/10 – Would Eat Again from the table. I’m including the recipe below for those who would like to make it.

A few notes from my experience:

-As I said above, I would cut down on the number of potatoes, though that comes down to personal preference. I would also double the amount of cauliflower.

-I threw caution to the wind and cut the potatoes down into chunks before I par-boiled them. It saved me time in the long run, as I didn’t have to wait for them to be cool enough to handle and I could just get on with the next step right away. They held up fine.

-We all put some Greek yogurt on top to lessen the sting of all the spaces.

-Before you start, check the supply levels on the spices that it calls for. Three tablespoons takes about half of a standard-sized spice jar.

-Ella recommends that you have it with brown rice. We were rebels and we had white rice instead. We like to live life on the edge.

“Cauliflower and Potato Curry” from “Deliciously Ella”

24 charlotte potatoes (1.4 kg)

1 head of cauliflower

3 x 400g tins of chopped tomatoes

1 x 400ml coconut milk

3 cloves of garlic, peeled and crushed

3 tbl mustard seeds

3 tbl ground tumeric

3 tbl ground cumin

3 tbl ground ginger

2 jalepeno peppers

olive oil

1 bag of spinach

Brown rice to serve

Boil potatoes for 15 minutes until they are softening. After 15 minutes, drain the potatoes and set aside to one side to cool. Once the potatoes are cool, chop into quarters or sixths; they should be big bite-sized chunks.

Slice the caluiflower into chunks and place it in a big saucepan with poatotes, tomatoes and cocunut milk and start to heat gently.

Put garlic into a frying pan with the spices & some salt and pepper. Chop pepppers into tiny pieces, dscard seeds and put it into the frying pan. Cover everything in generous amount of olive oil and cook on a high heat for a few minutes until the mustard seeds start to pop. Pour everything into the potato and califlower pan.

Put lid on pan and simmer for 45 minutes to an 1 hour, until poatoes are soft. Stir in spinach to wilt it. Serve on a bed of rice.

“Cauliflower and Potato Curry” from “Deliciously Ella”

6 thoughts on ““Cauliflower and Potato Curry” from “Deliciously Ella”

  1. Ditto. Same problem with finding things which appealed in this book plus allergies to almonds etc in the family which limited me from trying some recipes. But agree – this was good! We were also doing Meatless Monday and went through the same process of looking for something in the book. I made some alterations though:
    Forgot the cumin
    Cut the amount of mustard seeds, turmeric and dried ginger
    Cut to one carton of high quality tomatoes and one can coconut milk (so the spice concentration in the liquid might have ended up quite similar in fact as I also cut on the spices)
    Followed your advice and cut the potatoes to 12.
    Cut out the carrot.

    Added: one shallot, crushed red chilli flakes (as well as the fresh jalapeno chillies) peppercorns, some fresh ginger, fresh coriander. I also tasted often and added various things to flavour the sauce – a little yeast extract, red wine vinegar, dark muscovado sugar. Just according to what it seemed to need. I did feel it should be a bit bitterer along the way, this might well be because I had forgotten the cumin.

    Thanks for the advice, it really helped!

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Thanks for your comment. Glad I could help. She’s got a new book out now, but I doubt we will review it since this one wasn’t so popular.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      That’s absolutely true. Though Nigella Lawson isn’t a trained chef either, but she seems to bring real joy and love to food, whereas I didn’t get that vibe from Ella when I read hers.

Leave a Reply

