“Root Vegetable Pies” from “Plenty More”

IMG_6508Beautiful pie, right? I like to think so. It tastes even better than it looks.

The problem is I can’t look at this picture without thinking about the THREE HOURS, that’s right THREE HOURS [and yes, I am shouting] that it took to make them from start to finish.

In those three hours, I could have made six 30 minute meals from Jamie. I kid. Anyone who’s read this blog knows that we completed none of the 30 minute meals in 30 minutes, let alone cleaned up from them, so that’s an exaggeration. But still. Three hours is a long time to prepare one dish. I’ve done a three-course meal for eight people in less time than that.

I’m not sure what my problem was, or if that’s just how long it takes to make a decent pie. It’s a good thing I had set aside some time to make them, though as it was we didn’t sit down for dinner until 8 p.m.

I started at 5 p.m. to make the pastry, which was easy enough as you do it in the food processor. To be fair, I did get a call that took 15 minutes at 5.45 p.m. while I was chopping up the vegetables, so that set me back a bit. But it takes time to peel and chop (in uniform sizes no less) all of these root vegetables. It also took time to roll out and then cut the pie pastry (not to mention finding a pot top that was 14 cm in diameter, and another that was 8 cm in diameter.)

Don’t get me wrong. The pies were delicious. Good meals take time, attention and love. It’s just the next time I hope it’s quicker.

Believe it or not, and frankly I think this is a miracle, Ottolenghi made these very pies in an 8 minute segment on This Morning on ITV. He says it’s perfect for “Monday night cooking,” which I would agree, provided you have three hours to do it. To be fair, he had all the chopping and making done ahead of time. Television magic and all that. But he’s still incredibly charming, so you should watch for that.  You can either watch the clip, or read the recipe, which is also provided on the website. Click through to see it.

 

“Root Vegetable Pies” from “Plenty More”

Leave a Reply

