“Pork Cooked in Milk” and “Poor Man’s Potatoes” from “The Moro Cookbook”

IMG_6267Or, if you’d like it in the Spanish, “Lomo con Leche” and “Patatas a lo Pobre”

Maureen: So what do you think?

Tim: I like the potatoes.

Maureen: You should. You asked for them and they were a total faff to make.  What about the pork?

Nicholas (11): A big thumbs up for me.

Maureen: I think you would say that of any roast pork, frankly, since you ask for porcetta every Sunday.

Nicholas: That might be true.

Andrew (15): Me gusta!

Maureen: I’m glad you approve. I think it’s fine, but it’s not my favourite roast pork.

Tim: It’s sort of bland.

Maureen: I know! Which as a total surprise because it smelled absolutely delicious when I was making it. I was completely intrigued by the method– cooking the pork in milk rather than roasting it– but Mike from Dring’s assured me this method, while strange, really did work. The method worked, but the taste is a bit disappointing.

Tim: Would you make it again?

Maureen: The potatoes I’d make again, definitely. The pork I probably wouldn’t. While I can appreciate the novelty factor of the way I cooked it, I just don’t think it’s as good as some of the other roast pork that I make.

If you’re curious about the pork cooked in milk and want to give it a try, the Demon Cook reposted it on her blog. You can find it by clicking through these sentences.

“Pork Cooked in Milk” and “Poor Man’s Potatoes” from “The Moro Cookbook”

Leave a Reply

