“Spruced-Up Vanilla Cake” from “Nigella Christmas”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This cake looks impressive, but frankly it’s all about the pan*.

(Now I’ve got an earworm of “It’s All About That Bass” in my head. I will soldier on, regardless.)

In the cookbook, Nigella uses the Christmas tree Nordicware pan. As I didn’t have that one, I chose between the other two I do have– a castle and this one, which is actually a rose shape but looks like a iceberg when viewed from the side with icing sugar for snow and Monty the Penguin (or his cousin) on the summit.

It was another Book Club triumph. Everyone was impressed, but like I said, it comes down to the pan. The recipe itself was very easy to do and I will definitely be making it again before December is over.

“Spruced-Up Vanilla Cake” from “Nigella Christmas”

3 thoughts on ““Spruced-Up Vanilla Cake” from “Nigella Christmas”

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      They are fantastic. Every year at Christmas I am tempted to buy a Christmas one– I love the tree one that Nigella used for this recipe– but I resist. Truly a castle and a flower should be enough speciality bundt pans for one family.

Leave a Reply

