“Butter & Sage Gnudi” from “Jamie’s Comfort Food”

IMG_5833Well, this was a disaster. I was bitterly disappointed.

Do you see those pools of foodstuffs in the photo above? They were supposed to look like firm balls of dough– like meatballs of cheese, as it were. As you can see, they didn’t turn out that way.

To be honest, I was cutting it a little close in the chilling time. Jamie calls for 8 hours, but I only had 7 1/2. But would 30 minutes really be the difference between success and disaster? I don’t know.

Having just explored the Internet to find another recipe for gnudi, perhaps where this one went wrong was the amount of semolina that it called for to be used. Jamie says “a dusting” but another recipe said you should use equal parts cheese and semolina. That makes more sense to me. I’ve also learned that gnudi are temperamental little creatures (Tell me about it!) so I should have been more careful in the preparation and also perhaps made each gnudi a bit smaller than it was. Then perhaps I wouldn’t have had such a disaster on my hands.

Needless to say, I won’t be recommending this recipe. Avoid at all costs.

 

“Butter & Sage Gnudi” from “Jamie’s Comfort Food”

4 thoughts on ““Butter & Sage Gnudi” from “Jamie’s Comfort Food”

  1. I watched Jamie make these in an episode of Comfort Food that screened here last week and made my own version relying on a vague memory of my nona’s recipe. I buried mine in a whopping 4 cups of semolina. They firmed up beautifully after 4 hours but I didn’t attempt to cook them in water, just doused them in puttanesca sauce and baked them in the oven for 30 minutes. Come to think of it I used more parmesan than suggested – actually a mixture of parmesan and pecorino.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Yes, I’m definitely using more semolina flour the next time. Baking is also an excellent idea, as they definitely wouldn’t collapse. I’m pretty sure I’m going to attempt this again to see if I can make it work.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      I just watched the episode and you’re right– he did use about half a bag of semolina flour. In the instructions it tells you to “generously cover” but that could mean anything. Now that I’ve seen him do it, it means, “Use loads!”

      Also, having watched the recipe I think my ricotta was a bit too wet. I will probably drain it if I try it again, which I am tempted to do to see if I can make it work.

Leave a Reply

