“Cucumber Satay Crunch Salad” from “A Modern Way to Eat”

 

 

CBAMSataySalady“Satay salad?” I asked. “Where do I sign up?”

I love a chicken satay. However, as this is a vegetarian cookbook, there will be no chicken satay recipes, so this will be the next best thing. Besides, we all (bar one) love cucumbers in this family, so I figured I was on to a winner. I was right.

This salad reminded us all of something we could get at our favourite Vietnamese pop-up restaurant in Greenwich. This was a lucky thing, as Saigon StrEAT has been closed for the month of August and part of September, so this served as a helpful reminder of what we missed. It was incredibly fresh and flavourful, which is probably down to the amount of coriander you add to the salad.

For what it’s worth, I served this on the side on a FIsh Friday, where I just roasted some cod. The rich mix of flavours of the salad offset the plain nature of the roasted cod very nicely. Also, I made the salad in the 20 minutes when the cod was roasting, so it all came together quite nicely.

Would I eat this again? Absolutely.

 

“Cucumber Satay Crunch Salad” from “A Modern Way to Eat”

Leave a Reply

