“Tomato and Coconut Cassoulet” from “A Modern Way to Eat”

CBAMCassouletTim: Cassoulet! Without the pork products!

Nicholas (11): What do you mean?

Tim: Usually with cassoulet, you have beans and some sort of pork product, like chorizo.

Maureen: Not tonight, though. This is a vegetarian cassoulet.

Nicholas: I think I would like it better with chorizo.

Maureen (looking in his bowl): How can you say that? You haven’t even eaten any of it yet! Believe me, I think most things can be improved with the addition of pork products. But in this case, I think this is also good.

Andrew (said while emptying his bowl): I like it too.

Nicholas (now having eaten said dish): Yes, this is good. I like all the tomatoes.

Maureen: This also was a good use of leftover bagel. I was supposed to use sourdough bread, which would have been fine, but it would be a waste to get a new loaf just for this.

Tim: Yes. This is definitely one to use stale bread for, because you just need something to soak up the tomato juice. Also, if you had used the foccacia that we have, that would have gotten completely lost.

Maureen: Yes, I think you’re right. I don’t think she should include coconut in the title. I almost didn’t make it, since I’m not a fan of coconut. But actually there’s only four tablespoons of it in the recipe, and you can’t taste it at all.

Nicholas: I can’t taste any coconut.

Maureen: I think this is a winner. We should do this again for Meat Free Monday.

Tim: I would happily eat this again.

Maureen: So would I.

If you would like to make this yourself, the Telegraph reproduced the recipe. You can see it by clicking through this sentence. 

 

“Tomato and Coconut Cassoulet” from “A Modern Way to Eat”

Leave a Reply

