Tonight’s Dinner: Pasta Risotto with Peas & Pancetta from “Nigellissima”

CBAMRisottoWhat We’re Eating Again: Pasta Risotto with Peas & Pancetta, though we call it “Fake Risotto”

From: “Nigellissima”, October 2012 (Our original post can be found here.)

Why: We eat this all the time, because it’s the perfect dish for the nights in which I have 15 minutes to prepare dinner and all four of us have to be in four different places 30 minutes later. Everyone loves it, it’s delicious and it’s easy: the holy triumvirate of family dinners. Whenever I’m doing our food shopping, I make sure to throw in some orzo so we always have this pasta to hand. I’ve also made this when we’re away on holiday, as I’ve made it so much I have the recipe memorised. (See top tips below for how to do this yourself.)

Top Tips: I double the quantities that Nigella calls for when the four of us are eating dinner. That also makes it easy because it’s one bag of orzo. If you don’t have a scale to hand if you’re on the road, I put in roughly three handfuls of frozen peas for 300 grams, when I’m doubling the recipe. While using garlic olive oil is nice, it’s not essential. If I don’t have garlic olive oil, either I’ll add in some minced garlic or just go without.

If you’d like to make it yourself: You can find the recipe here, courtesy of Williams-Sonoma. Sorry, they’re not using metric in their calculations.

Tonight’s Dinner: Pasta Risotto with Peas & Pancetta from “Nigellissima”

One thought on “Tonight’s Dinner: Pasta Risotto with Peas & Pancetta from “Nigellissima”

Leave a Reply

