“Roasted Salmon, Asparagus and Pancetta with Caper and Basil Mayo” from “Bill’s Italian Food”

Anna: Oh wow! Ok. This is my new favourite salmon dish. And given we have salmon at least once a week, I’ve been through a lot of recipes…

Peter: Yes it is very nice. Not a lot of it though. Where are the carbs?

2014-06-18 20.58.22

Anna: There are no carbs. We haven’t been having many carbs recently. I’m surprised you haven’t noticed.

Peter: I have noticed.

Anna: This reminds me of old school Jamie. Jamie when the recipes were simple and worked and not accompanied by a load of waffle. He’d call it “Roasted salmon with pimped up mayo, my way” or something. The only thing I would change is to have more asparagus as it did shrink a lot when it was cooked. Yummy asparagus crisps. Yummy!

“Roasted Salmon, Asparagus and Pancetta with Caper and Basil Mayo” from “Bill’s Italian Food”

2 thoughts on ““Roasted Salmon, Asparagus and Pancetta with Caper and Basil Mayo” from “Bill’s Italian Food”

  1. Siobhan says:

    Hi guys – I’m Siobhan from Oz and I love your blog. I always get very intimidated when I pick up a big new cookbook and I’ve got no idea what to cook. So I’ve decided to follow your recommendations and I’ll let you know how it goes.
    I started with this book (Bill’s Italian Food) as I was able to pick it up easily from my local library. To be honest I had always thought that he was” all white co-ordinated clothes and perfectly formed children-as-accessories” and not so much about the food. But given you guys rave about him I thought I’d give him a go – starting with this recipe.
    First off – I did this 2 nights in a row (I live alone, singletons cook everything 2 nights in a row) 🙂
    First night I used frozen salmon and neglected his instruction to place everything in a single layer. (I piled the pancetta and the salmon on top of the asparagus).
    It all turned out a bit – meh. I liked the mayo but as for the rest of it – didn’t really get it.
    Second night I did it , I went to the fancy fishmonger and got some really nice salmon, I also did it in a single layer.
    Turned out great. Still a wee bit simple for me though. I loved the mayo combination and the roasted asparagus. Definitely a great option for a quick mid-week dinner.
    BTW I’ve lived 2 blocks from Bill’s Sydney restaurant for the last 17 years and I’ve never gone there for breakfast … Any recommendations for what to order?

  2. annastamour says:

    Hi Siobhan! Glad you liked the recipe, at least second time around! I love simple and still cook this regularly on weeknights when I haven’t got much time. You MUST go to Bill’s for breakfast, I’m amazed you’ve resisted for 17 years…. the scrambled eggs are legendary.

Leave a Reply

