“Cookie Dough Brownies” from “John Whaite Bakes at Home”

CBAMBrownies I made these Cookie Dough Brownies for the first May Bank Holiday Weekend, when we went away with our good friends and their sons. The weekend featured all the best things in life: Laughs, Games, Long Cycle Rides, Beautiful Vistas and Good Food. These brownies definitely contributed to the last thing on that list.

If you’ve ever devoured an entire container of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream, this is the recipe for you. Just so you can judge whether or not I like that flavour of Ben & Jerry’s, I give you this factlet: during my pregnancies, I would often buy pints of said ice cream and then hide them in the back of the freezer so I wouldn’t have to share them with anyone. Good times. (I would NEVER get away with the same tricks now because my family has become wise to my ways. Bummer.)

But I digress. To make these brownies, you first make the chocolate chip cookie dough and then freeze it into small balls. Once they’re frozen, you evenly distribute into the brownie pan and then pour the brownie mix around and over them. Once baked, it looks like a regular tray of brownies, but it’s anything but. The brownies are like that flavour of ice cream in that if you get lucky, you discover a lump of chocolate chip cookie dough when you bite into the delicious brownie. It’s like a Treasure Hunt in your mouth and it totally works.

These brownies proved to be so popular during our weekend that when there was only one slice remaining, it became the Grand Prize of our last epic battle of “Monopoly Deal.” The winner was very happy.

Would I make these again? Absolutely. In fact, the boys asked me to make them again after eating only one bite. I would call that a success.

If you’d like to make these yourself, thus ensuring that you become the most popular member of your household for as long as the brownies last, Google Books has uploaded “John Whaite Bakes at Home.” Click through this paragraph to find the recipe.

 

“Cookie Dough Brownies” from “John Whaite Bakes at Home”

One thought on ““Cookie Dough Brownies” from “John Whaite Bakes at Home”

  1. Cup o tea says:

    Hi Maureen,

    Great review! I was drooling all over my keyboard in anticipation but when I clicked on the link, it didn’t work 😦 I can get to the Google book page, but I can’t find the recipe. Do you know where else I could find it pretty please?
    Cheers 🙂

    Adeline

Leave a Reply

